

# Kentucky Broadcasters Association Excellence in Broadcasting Awards

# 2024 Finalists

(Finalists are listed in random order. Excellence in Broadcasting winners will be announced at the KBA Annual Membership Conference September 29-30, at Rupp Arena & Central Bank Center in downtown Lexington.)

## **RADIO FINALISTS:**

Behind the Scenes: Greg Jenkins, WMKY-FM; Ethan Miller, Mountain Top Media - Radio.

Broadcast Leadership Award: Mike Savage, WEKU-FM.

**Locally Produced Commercial:** Sindicat Dunn, WRNZ-FM, "Big City Pizza Company 'Wah Wah Wah Wah ''; Greg Moore, Misty Phillips and Kevin Wilson, WYKY-FM, "Gertie and Bobby Go to DIY Supply."

**Morning Show:** Jason Crockett and Ken Heron, WJLI-FM, "JC and Ken in the Morning"; Ted Meadows and Carolina Weatherford, Mountain Top Media - Radio, "Day Break Morning Show."

News Reporter of the Year: Josh James, WUKY-FM; Derek Operle, WKMS-FM.

**On-Air Personality of the Year:** Wendy Barnett, WEKU-FM; Kenny Beckman, WGGC Radio.

**Overall Digital Presence:** Mark Buckles, Sam Gormley and Ken Howlett, Heritage Media of Kentucky; Stu Johnson, Shepherd Snyder and John McGary, WEKU-FM.

**Overall Newscast/News Coverage:** A.J. Brammer, WQXE-FM; Samantha Morrill, WMKY-FM.

Rookie of the Year: Jalen Daugherty, WLME-FM; Hannah Saad, WKMS-FM.

Sales: Radio East (Districts 5-8): Tommy Fleming, Mountain Top Media - Radio.

Sales: Radio West (Districts 1-4): Cindy Watts, WTTL-FM.

**Special Program or Feature:** Lisa Autry, WKYU-FM, "Eclipse Mania Strikes Kentuckiana Ahead of April 8 Total Solar Eclipse, and the Exposure has Locals Dancing in the Dark"; Sam Dick, WEKU-FM, "One Woman's Mission to Clean Up Kentucky."

**Sports Announcer of the Year:** Nathan Lyttle, WSGS-FM, "Harlan County Shocks State"; Marty Warren, WHIR-AM.

Station of the Year: WEKU-FM; WKYU-FM.

**Talk Show:** Sam Gormley, Christy Buckles and Mark Buckles, Heritage Media of Kentucky, "In the Know"; Tom Martin and Neil Kesterson, WEKU-FM, "Eastern Standard."

**Uniquely Kentucky (public service award):** Lisa Autry, WKYU-FM, "As World's Largest EV Battery Manufacturing Site Takes Shape, Historic Glendale Hopes to Retain Small Town Identity"; Sam Dick, WEKU-FM, "Off the Beaten Path."

**Use of Streaming Video:** Greg Busby and Chris Staples, WSON AM/FM; Sam Gormley and Mark Buckles, Heritage Media of Kentucky.

#### **TELEVISION FINALISTS:**

Behind the Scenes: Kat Byars, WPSD-TV; Scott Isaacs, WAVE-TV.

**Daytime Newscast:** Makayla Ballman, Katelyn Hempel and Harrison Valk, WAVE-TV, "Sunrise"; WLKY-TV.

Evening Newscast: WLEX-TV, "Scott County Officer Murdered"; WLKY-TV.

**Locally Produced Commercial:** McKayla Cash, WBKO-TV, "KD Aesthetics"; Keith Earl and Dean Handy, WKYT-TV, "Share an Evening with James Pepper."

Meteorologist of the Year: Jay Cardosi, WLKY-TV; Alexa Minton, WKYT-TV.

News Anchor of the Year: Evan Leake, WLEX-TV; John Boel, WAVE-TV.

News Reporter of the Year: John Boel, WAVE-TV; Evan Leake, WLEX-TV.

**Overall Digital Presence:** WKYT-TV; WLKY-TV.

Rookie of the Year: Jessica Umbro, WKYT-TV; Katy Beth Boyers, WBKO-TV.

Sales: TV East (Districts 5-8): Erin Graf, WKYT-TV.

Sales: TV West (Districts 1-4): Erin Barber, WBKO-TV.

**Special Program or Feature:** Natalia Martinez and Scott Isaacs, WAVE-TV, "23 Seconds: A Louisville Mass Shooting"; WLKY-TV, "Louisville Strong: One Year Later."

Sportscaster of the Year: Armando Barry, WYMT-TV; Michael Epps, WDKY-TV.

Station of the Year: Dale Woods, Scott Brady and Jennifer Keeney, WDRB-TV, "The Source"; WLEX-TV.

Uniquely Kentucky (public service award): WDKY-TV; WLKY-TV, "Committed to Service."

Videographer of the Year: Jon Black, WLKY-TV; Nick Lazaroff, WLEX-TV.

#### **COLLEGE TV FINALISTS:**

News Reporter of the Year: Adi Schanie, Western Kentucky University – TV.

**Newscast/Coverage:** Ashlyn Hernandez, Noah Dentinger and Elizabeth Vensel-McCoy, Western Kentucky University - TV, "Eclipse Show"; Ashlyn Hernandez, Noah Dentinger and Elizabeth Vensel-McCoy, Western Kentucky University - TV,

**Special Program or Feature:** Cole McIntire, Western Kentucky University - TV, "Legonomics"; Ryan Murphy, Western Kentucky University - TV, "The Rocket Kid."

Overall Digital Presence: Murray State University, "The Murray State News."

**Student Broadcaster of the Year:** Cole McIntire, Western Kentucky University - TV; Hallie Adams, Morehead State University; Anabel Peterman, Morehead State University.

## **COLLEGE RADIO FINALISTS:**

**News Reporter of the Year:** Hallie Adams, Morehead State University; Sydney Graham, Morehead State University.

**Overall Digital Presence:** Anabel Peterman, Morehead State University; Murrray State University.

**Special Program or Feature:** Hallie Adams and Kendall Potter, Morehead State University, "Bill Clifton, Song Carrier"; Caylee Lacey, Morehead State University, "Child Abuse Prevention Month."