

# Excellence in Broadcasting Awards 2024 WINNERS

## **RADIO**

## **Behind the Scenes**

## **WMKY-FM**

Greg Jenkins

# **Overall Digital Presence**

**WEKU-FM** 

Great job!

Stu Johnson, Shepherd Snyder and John McGary

## **Talk Show**

# Heritage Media of Kentucky

Sam Gormley, Christy Buckles and Mark Buckles
"In The Know"

## Rookie of the Year

#### **WLME-FM**

Jalen Daugherty

# **Uniquely Kentucky (public service award)**

#### **WEKU-FM**

Sam Dick

"Off the Beaten Path"

## **News Reporter of the Year**

# WKMS-FM

Derek Operle

Nice storytelling! Minimal track. The characters of the story do the talking. Great use of nat sound as well.

## **Morning Show**

## **WJLI-FM**

Jason Crockett and Ken Heron "JC and Ken in the Morning"

Corny and fun!

## **Special Program or Feature**

## **WEKU-FM**

Sam Dick

"One Woman's Mission to Clean Up Kentucky"

From the well-crafted lead to the personal history to the finely tuned closer, this story was compelling from start to finish. It was funny and had some surprising emotional qualities. Perfectly executed and something listeners will talk to people about after hearing on-air.

# **Sports Announcer of the Year**

## **WSGS-FM**

Nathan Lyttle

"Harlan County Shocks State"

## **Overall Newscast/News Coverage**

WMKY-FM

Samantha Morrill

Great delivery on important topics. Great use

of sound clips to deliver information. Standout newscast in the category.

## **Use of Streaming Video**

**Heritage Media Of Kentucky** 

Sam Gormley and Mark Buckles "K105 Digital Productions"

Broad community coverage that spotlights a

range of events, topics and interests.

Professional camera work and graphics with

thorough interviews.

# **On-Air Personality of the Year**

WGGC Radio

Kenny Beckman

Most interesting and engaging on air

presentation.

# **Sales: Radio West (Districts 1-4)**

WTTL-FM

Cindy Watts

# Sales: Radio East (Districts 5-8)

# **Mountain Top Media - Radio**

Tommy Fleming

# **Station of the Year**

## WKYU-FM

## **GREAT STORYTELLING!**

# **Broadcast Leadership Award**

## **WEKU-FM**

Mike Savage

# **Locally Produced Commercial**

## WYKY-FM

Greg Moore, Misty Phillips and Kevin Wilson "Gertie and Bobby Go to DIY Supply" Fantastic use of humor and still get the information across.

# **TELEVISION**

## **News Reporter of the Year**

## WAVE-TV John Boel

This entry represents very good reporting on a serious issue that is important to the community. The reporter didn't just get a phone call about a single case and report it, but documented a pattern of abuse, spending time to stake out the hospital where patient dumping was suspected. His subsequent stories were also well written and reported with very good production value. Content and presentation were impressive.

## **News Anchor of the Year**

## WAVE-TV John Boel

John is obviously a seasoned journalist and does it very well. His clips were solid.

# Meteorologist of the Year

# WLKY-TV Jay Cardosi

Jay does a great job. He incorporated great visuals of damage. It feels like he really gave a heads up to the viewers during the big weather events.

## Videographer of the Year

## WLEX-TV Nick Lazaroff

# Sales: TV West (Districts 1-4)

# **WBKO-TV** Erin Barber

Nice effort in tough times. Especially in her Churn achievement.

## Sales: TV East (Districts 5-8)

# WKYT-TV

Erin Graf

Very evident that Erin is doing all the little things right making the big things easier to accomplish. Definitely the model of true leadership.

# **Locally Produced Commercial**

#### WKYT-TV

Keith Earl and Dean Handy
"Share an Evening with James
Pepper"

Beautiful spot. Loved the visuals with the music track. Very attention getting and retainable.

## **Daytime Newscast**

#### WAVE-TV

Makayla Ballman, Katelyn Hempel and Harrison Valk "Sunrise" Good energy from anchors and great coverage of breaking news with the building fire in downtown Louisville. Reporter on the scene of the fire did a great job of describing what was happening. Overall good content and coverage.

## **Behind the Scenes**

#### WAVE-TV

**Scott Isaacs** 

# **Evening Newscast**

#### **WLKY-TV**

## Station of the Year

#### **WDRB-TV**

Dale Woods, Scott Brady and Jennifer Keeney "The Source" Fantastic production value, promotions, breaking news coverage, overall delivery!

## **Overall Digital Presence**

#### **WKYT-TV**

## Rookie of the Year

## WKYT-TV Jessica Umbro

The rookie-of-the-year comes across as a composed, confident journalist who, while still navigating all the nuances of reporting, is an emerging force in their news operation. Jessica Umbro's work as an MMJ covering the tough stuff, from breaking news to key community events, to impactful state politics picks up the win here! Umbro's ability to communicate complex issues in a clear and concise manner should serve as a bedrock example to other young journalists.

## Sportscaster of the Year

# **WDKY-TV** Michael Epps

Engages and entertains audience through reporting, also demonstrates creativity and willingness to think outside the box. Evokes strong emotion through sportscasts and storytelling, including demonstrating cultural significance and community impact through sports.

## **Uniquely Kentucky (public service award)**

## **WLKY-TV**

"Committed to Service"

# **Special Program or Feature**

## WAVE-TV

Natalia Martinez and Scott Isaacs "23 Seconds: A Louisville Mass Shooting"

# Freedom of Information Award sponsored by The Associated Press

## **WPSD-TV**

Brianna Clark and Perry Boxx
"Investigating Circumstances
Surrounding Death of Deputy Jody
Cash"

# **COLLEGE TV**

# Newscast/Coverage

## Western Kentucky University -

TV

Ashlyn Hernandez, Noah Dentinger and Elizabeth Vensel-McCoy "WKU News Channel 12"

# **News Reporter of the Year**

## Western Kentucky University -

TV

Adi Schanie

# **Overall Digital Presence**

## **Murray State University**

"The Murray State News"

# **Student Broadcaster of the Year**

## Western Kentucky University -

TV

Cole McIntire

# **Special Program or Feature**

# Western Kentucky University -

TV

Ryan Murphy
"The Rocket Kid"

LOVE the open with the NATS! Great shooting and editing and writing to the video! Also, terrific editing job.
Lots of fun to watch!
Excellent job!

# **COLLEGE RADIO**

# News Reporter of the Year

**Morehead State University** 

Sydney Graham

Excellent writing and reporting.

# **Student Broadcaster of the Year**

**Morehead State University** 

Hallie Adams

Excellent work all around, superb storytelling

skills and excellent content.

## **Special Program or Feature**

Morehead State University
Hallie Adams and Kendall Potter

"Bill Clifton, Song Carrier"

Excellent series, story held the listeners attention through all three segments, very well produced.

# **Overall Digital Presence**

# **Murray State University**